June 22, 2023

How long do I have to report a car accident?

You have 10 days to file a police report.

According to Wisconsin State Statute s. 346.70(1), any accident must be reported IF it results in:

  • Injury or death
  • $1,000 or more damage to any person’s vehicle or property
  • $200 or more damage to a state or government-owned property other than a vehicle

You have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit under the current car accident statute of limitations in Wisconsin. However, if you experienced the loss of a loved one, the statute of limitations for a wrongful death lawsuit is two years.

Nationally Recognized Law Firm